Happy New Year! 1st “Official” post (1 Jan 2012)


Happy New Year!

2012_Jan_01_New Years_022
18 mm, 112 seconds, f/8.0 ISO 400

I was going to try the 2011 washed away leaving 2012 written in the sand, but it was night by the time I made it to the beach and the waves were very small with short intervals (not enough time to write the 2011, and shoot it in this light).  All lighting is natural to Ocean Beach in New London, CT, where this was shot, and it is actually quite dark here, dark enough to need a flash light to set up the camera.

Let me know what you think of this shot, and/or ask any questions you may have!

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year! 1st “Official” post (1 Jan 2012)

  1. Thank you for blogging how you took the photo. It helps me grasp a better understanding to how photos are taken. I am new at photography so this sort of posting is exactly what I am looking for. Thanks again.

    • You are very welcome! I too am new to photography (been taking pics all my life, but now serious about it), and an trying to learn all I can, and knowing how a pic was taken has helped me understand, as well 🙂

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

