Day 14 (14 Jan 2012) 13 Minutes In Heaven


13 minutes and 39 seconds to be exact.  That’s how long the shutter was open pointing at the North Star tonight.  It was great finally having a clear night I could do this!  I’ll be trying much longer times to see how long I can get the star trails.  The bright area in the lower left is light pollution from a nearby town.  It’s hard to avoid in New England 😦

Taking long night exposures is very time-consuming: first you have the actual time the shutter is open, then over twice as long (it seems) for the camera to conduct noise reduction processing.  But it’s worth it, IMO.  Enjoy!

2012_Jan_14_13 min exposure_001
20 mm, 13 min 39 sec, f/10, ISO 100 (Star Trails North)

3 thoughts on “Day 14 (14 Jan 2012) 13 Minutes In Heaven

    • I did a 60 min exposure last night, but I just realized that I had ISO set at 400, not 100 😦 I didn’t have time to adjust the exposure before uploading, but I’ll do that tonight. If you want to see it as is, it’s the first photo on my Flickr photostream.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

