Day 32 (1 Feb 2012) Random Creek


Today marked another warm winter day, with a high of 60F! I’m beginning to wonder if my calendar isn’t off by 3 months.

I’ve passed this creek many times over the past 6 years, and up until recently, there was a stone dam across it creating a nice little water fall.  But I think Tropical Storm Irene caused it to bust open, but I still wanted to try to see if I could capture something interesting there.  So today on my way to my night class, I parked near there, and fought through the briers to take some photos.  I brought my tripod, as the sun had already set and I didn’t think that any hand-held shots would come out.  While hopping over the minor branches, I landed in once spot that was so soft my shoe sunk 6″, to below the water line.  So needless to say, I had a wet shoe/sock.  But thankfully I’m wearing my Smartwool socks, so my foot never got cold, and it actually dried off before class (with a little help from my car heater)!

The photos below were tweaked a little bit in Lightroom to fix white balance and color, but not a whole lot. But enough talk, here is what you came for:

Troubled Water

47 mm, 1/40 sec, f/5.6, ISO 3200, EF-S 18-55mm IS kit lens (Troubled Water)

Broken Dam

48 mm, 4 sec, f/11, ISO 100, EF-S 18-55mm IS kit lens (Broken Dam)

Rushing Water

18 mm, 0.3 sec, f/8/0, ISO 200, EF-S 18-55mm IS kit lens (Rushing Water)

6 thoughts on “Day 32 (1 Feb 2012) Random Creek

    • I thought about it, but there wasn’t a good way to place the camera w/o getting (more) wet. Once the weather is warm enough for flip-flops, I’ll be all over it!

  1. The second one reminds me of a painting. I had to look at it a few times because I was stuck on it! I could see this one blown up hanging over a fireplace or bed. In the third one it looks like mixed media with a photography and then painted water over it!

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

