Day 33 (2 Feb 2012) Hartford and the CT River Ghost


Many a day I’ve admired the view from I-291 as it crosses the Connecticut River; For a minute you forget you are in a heavily populated area as suburbia gives way to river and woods.  But there is a point along the bridge that where you can catch a glimpse of downtown Hartford, CT, and at night or in the early morning, it is a beautiful sight!

I’ve also noticed the pedestrian portion of the bridge on the northern side, but wondered how to get to it, so using satellite photos on Yahoo maps I found the entrance on the western side.  As It’s hard to get a good shot through a dirty windshield while driving in heavy traffic, I decided to park at the walk-way entrance and walk to a spot on the bridge that afforded a good view and set up my tripod w/o fear of the traffic flying by.

Since I was using a small aperture, I had a slow shutter speed to get a good exposure; this allowed me to catch the infamous CT River Ghost on film!!

CT River Ghost

39 mm, 30 sec, f/18, ISO 100, EF-S 18-55mm IS kit lens (CT River Ghost)

Hartford, CT at Night

104mm, 30 sec, f/18, ISO 100, Sigma DC OS 50-200mm HSM lens (Hartford at Night)

Behind the Fence

53 mm, 30 sec, f/18, ISO 100, EF-S 18-55mm kit lens (Behind the Fence)

5 thoughts on “Day 33 (2 Feb 2012) Hartford and the CT River Ghost

  1. Three total winners here. Your skills are really showing off in this project, Jeremy. I love the first one and the fact that you can capture “The Ghost” in three instances. That is cool. I absolutely enjoy the colors in the second one. And the third one I thought of a person who is trapped in his own thinking and unable to see the world for what it really is because he is looking to close. (Not meaning you!) I love this day’s photography!

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

