Day 36 (5 Feb 2012) Low Water


Today I took the long way home from church.  Well, it’s really shorter in distance, but longer in time (staying off of the freeway), and has much more varied scenery.  I stopped at a pull off near a lake and noticed that the water level was very low; probably because we haven’t had much rain or snow this winter.  I hope for the sake of the summer boaters that this lake fill up by late spring!  The second photo is of a structural member of the dock; I found the shape and color of the rust intriguing, along with the pile of fresh-water mussel shells under it.

I thought about trying to photograph something in honor of the Super Bowl, but since I’m not really into sports, and am just going for the friends, fun, and commercials, I figured I’d shoot something that I thought was interesting.

Low Water

18 mm, 1/400 sec, f/11, ISO 100, EF-S 18-55mm IS kit lens (Low Water)

Rusty Pier

55 mm, 1/250 sec, f/5/6, ISO 100, EF-S 18-55mm IS kit lens (Rusty Pier)

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

