Day 44 (13 Feb 2012) Star Light, Star Bright


I’ve shot in this field before (see post Life and Death), but I really like how this lone tree in the corn field stood out against the glow of the town just past the horizon.  The sky was clear, and the moon was not set to rise for 3 more hours, so I pulled over just before I reached home and set up my tripod and took a few shots.

I was trying to keep from having star trails, so I limited my exposure to 30 seconds, but had to boost the ISO up to 400, so I did get some noise which I tried to reduce in Lightroom.  But in this small size it doesn’t show up too much. The tree is a little out of focus, and the noise reduction didn’t help it, either. Days like this were I don’t have time to really plan out a shot result in being rushed. But I am learning something each time I analyze a photo I’m not 100% pleased with. 🙂

Tree in Corn Field

18 mm, 30 sec, f/4.5, ISO 400, Canon 18-55mm kit lens (Tree in Corn Field)

6 thoughts on “Day 44 (13 Feb 2012) Star Light, Star Bright

  1. you could sell this one…brilliant. I’m not a skilled photographer, but am a sucker for long exposure and the way to framed the shot resonates with me. It says, ‘although the tree is big is, and us, are pretty insignificant in the big picture’. You have talent, thanks for sharing.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

