Day 48 (17 Feb 2012) A Walk In My Front Yard


Today I was able to work from home, so during my lunch break I took a walk through the woods in my “front yard”.  To change things up a bit, I put on my telephoto lens (50-200mm) to get some practice using it, and to force me to see things from another perspective.  I wanted to shoot closer to the 200mm end, as my kit lens allows me to shoot up to 55mm.  Things looked a lot different and I had to adjust my shooting quite a bit.

Many of the images did not come out well, even though it is a stabilized lens, shooting hand-held at max zoom magnifies every little bit of movement.  Also, the lens isn’t very sharp at that extreme.  But the main point of the exercise being to cause me to adjust myself more than create art, I’m not (too) disappointed.  I put a few more up on Flickr, but here are a few of my favorites from today:

Looking Up

200 mm, 1/50 sec, f/5.6, ISO 100, Sigma 50-200mm (Looking Up)

Through The Woods

200 mm, 1/80 sec, f/11, ISO 100, Sigma 50-200mm (Through The Woods)

Mossy Rock

200 mm, 1/50 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100, Sigma 50-200mm (Mossy Rock)

6 thoughts on “Day 48 (17 Feb 2012) A Walk In My Front Yard

  1. Three beautifully composed images – I particularly like the first two shots. The golden glow and the detail of the leaves in the first is excellent. The sharp detail in the the second composition works very effectively with the B&W .

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

