Day 80 (20 March 2012) Macro Lens


It finally came!  My Canon 60 mm macro lens (EF-S 60 mm f/2.8 macro) arrived!  So I spent  a little time learning how to use it.  I quickly realized that it requires a lot of light, and since it’s dark out and my house isn’t the brightest inside (low wattage CFLs), I realized I had to use a tripod.  I created an ad-hoc studio (kitchen table covered in white printer paper) so I could shoot some macro shots 🙂 There are a lot of photos posted here, more than normal, anyway. I invite all critiques and criticisms and tips to do better. This goes for all posts/photos (including if I’m too long winded in my write ups). I can’t improve if I don’t know where I need improvement 🙂

My favorite from tonight is the first one; can you guess what it is?  I have the answer in the “alt text” so if you hover your mouse over the photo it will tell you.  I will give you a hint: the photo is severely cropped.

I can already tell that this may become my favorite lens.  I’ve always loved looking at macro photos, now I get to make them!  I’ve also heard it is a great portrait lens, so maybe my gf will let me practice this weekend 🙂

Surface of Pepsi inside the can

60 mm, 1/25 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, EF-S 60mm macro (What Am I?)

Redemption

60 mm, 1/50 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, EF-S 60mm macro (Redemption)

No Pressure

60 mm, 1/8 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, EF-S 60mm macro (No Pressure)

Fool's Gold

60 mm, 1/5 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, EF-S 60mm macro (Fool's Gold)

Old Brick

60 mm, 1.3 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100, EF-S 60mm macro (Old Brick)

14 thoughts on “Day 80 (20 March 2012) Macro Lens

  1. Congrats on your new lens. Nothing better than getting a package in the mail, except knowing what it is and it being something you have been waiting for. Nice captures. This is an area I want to explore more. I have only flipped my fixed 50mm around to get some Macro.

    • Thanks Dan! There are two simple/inexpensive ways to get into the macro world; the first, flipping your lens, you are doing (did you know they make reversing rings that do this, so you don’t have to hold the lens to the camera? ). The other is a cheap set of close-up filters (basically magnifying glasses, $10 and up). I got a set about 2 weeks ago and had to jump to the lens, I enjoyed it so much! With either method you will be working with a very shallow DOF, but they are great ways to explore and create until you get your lens 🙂

  2. Outstanding shots! OK, I think you’re getting us all hooked on some macro shooting. That’s going to be my next purchase. I never would have guessed about the Pepsi. No Pressure is awesome, too.

    • Thanks Regina! The Pepsi was kind of a surprise; as I was adjusting the focus to hit the top of the can, I noticed the detail on the surface of the liquid 🙂

  3. Nice! glad I encouraged you :). Fantastic job for your first shots and I hope you enjoy it.

    Overall your shutter speeds seem very slow to me (nice job keeping it steady – maybe I should break out my Gorillapod more often) – yep, you need a lot more light! Nick Exposed has a good lightbox tutorial here: http://nickexposed.com/2012/02/07/lightbox-tutorial/ – I built one and it does give you more shooting options.

    If you look at ‘No pressure’, on the metal rim, you can see the beautiful look in the out of focus areas which helps make this such a beauty of a lens, and so good for portraiture. My sister describes this lens as having ‘great falloff’ – I have no idea what that means, but it’s as good an explanation as any. It’s probably something to do with blades and aperture shape and all that stuff which I don’t understand. Somehow, the portrait pics can look sharp, but soft in the right places.

    Anyway, I expect you will find out for yourself in the next few days and look forward to seeing your work!

    • Thanks! It was too dark to have a fast enough shutter speed w/o going over ISO 1600 for hand held, so I did use a tripod. I’m checking out the lightbox now, and am already in love with this lens 🙂

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

