Day 81 (21 March 11) More Macro


I’m so in love with this new lens; and I got it just in time for spring (esp. since yesterday was the first day)!  I spend about an hour after work walking my woods/yard shooting some new growth.

I never realized how unsteady I am w/o a stabilized lens; many shots didn’t come out because I was swaying ever so slightly and it was enough to move out of focus when the shutter activated.  I’ll have to either bring my tripod out next time or look into getting a monopod (or use a piece of string to step on).  It didn’t help that the slightest breeze more than “compensated” for the times I was steady, lol.  I know I’ve got a lot of learning to do with this new lens 🙂  Any and ALL suggestions are welcome!

Oak Blossom

60 mm, 1/100 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Oak Blossom)

Oak Blossoms

60 mm, 1/60 sec, f/11, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (Oak Blossoms)

Wild Rose

60 mm, 1/80 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Wild Rose)

And just in case you didn’t guess yesterday’s puzzle, It was the surface of the Pepsi I was drinking, the light coming out of the can caught my attention as I was shooting “Redemption”

10 thoughts on “Day 81 (21 March 11) More Macro

  1. I told you that shallow DoF was a challenge :). Looking good so far!

    After practicing with my 60mm for about 5000 shots or so, my advice is: You’re going to get a lot of dud shots no matter what! But you’ll also get enough absolute crackers to keep you practising.

    Try shooting after exhaling and before you inhale again – you will be a little steadier.

    • thanks! The exhaling thing helps; like when shooting a gun 🙂

      It’s gonna be hard to get me to pull this lens off for a while, except for specific shots 🙂

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

