Day 92 (1 April 2012) Help Wanted


So I think my camera decided to play an April Fools day joke on me. Ok, I can’t really blame it on my camera, so I’m asking all of you for help today.

On my way to church I saw the sun trying to break through the clouds and it looked beautiful!  There was a little color, but it was more the shape and contrast in the clouds that grabbed my attention.  So I pulled over and put my camera up to my eye and fired off a few shots, adjusting the exposure some between each shot.  Some looked good on the LCD so I felt happy all day ‘knowing’ I had captured a great shot I could use here.

But when I got home and uploaded them, I was thoroughly unimpressed.  Even with spending over 30 min trying to tweak them to bring out what I remembered seeing, I feel like I missed the shot in some way, or messed it up when capturing it.

So, can you give me some tips on how to either fix it, or get it right in camera next time?  The first shot is straight from the camera, the last is tweaked and converted to black and white (not really happy with it).  Thanks.

Shining Through

37 mm, 1/500 sec, f/13, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Shining Through - un edited)

Shining Through

37 mm, 1/500 sec, f/13, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Shining Through - edited)

Shining Through - B&W

37 mm, 1/800 sec, f/13, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Shining Through - B&W)

4 thoughts on “Day 92 (1 April 2012) Help Wanted

    • I have one, I just didn’t even think about it today. That’s a good suggestion and I can practice w/ on on the next cloudy day (tomorrow?). Thanks!!

  1. First off, I like the bw photo here. I’m far from a professional, but here are my two cents (keeping in mind that I don’t know how the scene looked or what you prefer to do with it):

    – The area around the sun is so bright that my guess is that there is not much data in the image file to work with in post-processing. For sunset/sunrise photos where the color, contrast, and depth in the clouds are the primary subject, I like to meter on the brightest part of the scene and let everything else go dark. I think you did this to a certain degree, but a shutter speed in the neighborhood of 1/800 or 1/1000 may have preserved more data in the photo?

    – You could try turning down the highlights further to give the clouds more depth, perhaps? Additionally, I wonder if raising contrast further could add some additional drama to the clouds?

    Again, just my two cents and I’m sort of shooting in the dark here, regarding the original scene and what you wanted to capture. And I really do like the bw photo. 🙂

    • Thanks John! I did meter off the clouds nearest the sun (which were kinda dark), but should have picked a much brighter spot. I’ll try your suggestions, thanks 🙂

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

