Day 93 (2 April 2012) Montville Center Congregational Church


If you’ve ever visited New England, you probably noticed that the roads here are planned as carefully as spaghetti is arranged on your plate. As such, there are numerous ways to get from A to B. A couple days ago I took a new way home and discovered a lot of cool, old buildings along the way. A lot of old brick factories (from the fabric mill days) and this church. Most of the brick buildings have no trespassing signs, and not feeling up to any jail time tonight, I decided to shoot this church.

I shot this with about a 2.5 min exposure at ISO 200. This is the first long exposure I’ve intentionally shot at an ISO greater than 100. I think the noise level is hardly noticeable, so I may try some higher ISOs to reduce my exposure time on future shots.

Montville Center Congregational Church

18 MM, 147 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Montville Center Congregational Church)

13 thoughts on “Day 93 (2 April 2012) Montville Center Congregational Church

    • It’s fairly simple. You need a tripod (beanbag could work) and a remote of sorts (I used an IR this time). Set your lens to manual focus and use a flashlight along with live-view, zoomed all the way in, to set your focus, then activate the shutter. I used a stopped down aperture to get some DOF. Experiment with how long to hold the shutter open. You should have your long exposure noise reduction on, too.

      If you want to do sample shots to check composition/focus boost your ISO to max and use a shorter duration (10-15 sec).

      The hardest part is waiting for the camera to do the noise reduction after the shutter closes (time is equal to open time).

      I hope that helps, I know this may not be written concisely.

  1. This is one of my favorites fromyou Jeremy; the color is awesome, and the stars look great in the picture.
    You made me laugh with “the roads here are planned as carefully as spaghetti is arranged on your plate.”

    • Thanks Pablo! The color of the sky blew me away; maybe the combo of moon and street lights caused it? But I’m very pleased with it πŸ™‚

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

