Day 96 (5 April 2012) An iPod Autopsy


This evening I didn’t have a subject in mind for today’s photo/blog post, so I started rummaging through drawers looking for interesting objects to shoot.  I came across my fist iPod from about 10 years ago.  It is the one w/ the four touch buttons under the screen, black and white, and a 15 GB hard drive.  I remember thinking how tiny it was to hold so much music.  It was great to have with me on deployments on my submarine while I was in the navy.  As you can imagine space is a premium and I was used to packing a Diskman, batteries, a battery charger, and two cases of CDs.  Replacing all that with something the size of a deck of cards was amazing!

But anyway, it had died about 5 years ago.  Being a pack-rat, I held onto it for some reason, i’m sure.  But today I decided I wanted to see the inside.  So I took it apart carefully (mostly) and took some shots to share.

The third shot I wanted to have a little fun with, so I tried playing with split toning.  I didn’t really know what it did, but I’ve got a great idea how it works now 🙂

iPod Autopsy

60 mm, 1/25 sec, f/2.8, ISO 200, 60mm macro lens (iPod Autopsy)

Apple Chips

60 mm, 1/25 sec, f/2.8, ISO 200, 60mm macro lens (Apple Chips)

Apple Guts

60 mm, 1/25 sec, f/2.8, ISO 200, 60mm macro lens (Apple Guts)

4 thoughts on “Day 96 (5 April 2012) An iPod Autopsy

    • thanks 🙂 I’ve been taking apart stuff since I was old enough to hold a screw driver, much to my mom’s dismay 🙂 But now I can fix just about anything 🙂

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

