Day 97 (6 April 2012) Smoke


Every time I blow out a candle, I am mesmerized by the patterns and shapes that the smoke creates as it wafts up from the wick.  Today I grabbed my camera just as I blew one out and took a few shots.  And just for fun, I played with the split toning to see what it would look like in different colors.  A bit different than what I normally do, but it was fun and a learning experience 🙂

I think I would like to do this again more deliberately, with a  cleaner back ground and play with the  shutter speed to see how it comes out.  But for now, I like how these turned out.

Blue Smoke

60 mm, 1/250 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60 mm macro lens (Blue Smoke)

Red Smoke

60 mm, 1/250 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60 mm macro lens (Red Smoke)

Smoke

60 mm, 1/200 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60 mm macro lens (Smoke)

10 thoughts on “Day 97 (6 April 2012) Smoke

  1. I’ve tried it before, and it’s very fun!
    I like them, Jeremy; they turned out really well; I specialy like the second one, the red makes it look very elegant.
    Nicely done!

  2. Pingback: Day 109 (18 April 2012) Shooting a Smoking Punk | 365 Photos by Jeremy

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

