Day 103 (12 April 2012) After the Rain


Today’s weather was interspersed with rain and sun, which meant that there were beautiful cumulus clouds everywhere, and a few rainbows!  Unfortuantly the rainbows were to faint to see once photographed, but I was still able to take a short jaunt to the same nearby corn field that I’ve shot in a few times, now.  Most recently on Tuesday night.

There is just something about the open field, surrounded by trees, and the large, gnarly oak trees that make awesome silhouettes.  I wonder how it will look thought the lens once the corn starts coming in around June.

After the Rain

18 mm, 1/25 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (After the Rain)

Sundown on the Farm

32 mm, 1/30 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Sundown on the Farm)

One thing I’m noticing about my shooting habits is my huge hesitation to go above ISO 100; I usually don’t even think about bumping up ISO unless my the lighting conditions required too slow a shutter to be hand held.  I think I tend to pull out a tripod before bumping up ISO, if I have the time/tripod available.  Any thoughts on this?  Should I ‘explore’ the higher ISOs to see how they do, or keep trying to say at ISO 100?

 

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

