Day 108 (17 April 2012) Connecticut River Morning


Last night i went to bed with a plan for today’s shoot; get up early, stop and a river park, and shoot this rail road bridge I saw yesterday morning as the sun rose (or was still low).  The bridge in the first shot is a railroad bridge crossing the Connecticut

Rail Road Bridge

24 mm, 1/800 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Rail Road Bridge)

This first shot is a bit dull because it was shot almost directly into the sun (cropped from the upper right).  The second shot was almost directly away from the sun.

Hartford Morning

mm, 1/250 sec, f/11, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Hartford Morning)

Lets just say that I snoozed a few minutes too long, but I still did manage to get a couple pretty good shots.  I’m re-planning for Thursday morning for the same site, but planning on much earlier (like around sunrise).  LMK what you think of these 🙂

12 thoughts on “Day 108 (17 April 2012) Connecticut River Morning

    • Thanks Dan! I had not been to this park before today, but have seen it from the bridge often. It was so peaceful and quite, I want to go again just to relax 🙂

  1. I love getting up early and taking off with my camera and a plan. Just hitting the road at 4:30 ( my earliest to date) and heading 100 miles or so to catch the sunrise. Of course, when I get back home by noon I’m ready for a nap. Getting old sucks!

  2. Sorry! I forgot this is not about me. I loved these two shots. Especially your decision to keep the wooden pier in the foreground of the bridge.

  3. Loved them both, but have to say the first one makes me want to jump in the pic and go out on that pier. 🙂

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

