Day 109 (18 April 2012) Shooting a Smoking Punk


Now before you start to wonder if I’m posting this from jail or hate punk music or people who smoke, I’ll let you know that a punk, in the way I’m using it, is a long stick covered in compressed sawdust. It’s used to light off fireworks. Check out the Wikipedia article on it; it’s a very short read.

A friend of mine saw my earlier post where I shot smoke from a candle and suggested this, as it will produce a steady stream os smoke for a long time, verses the few minutes. The trick to getting the most smoke is to rub a light coating of cooking oil over the surface. It works 🙂 Just do it outdoors, ’cause it does stink a little (my windows were open to help dissipate the odor!).

Smoking Punk

60 mm, 1/200 sec, f/2.8, ISO 200, 60mm macro lens (Smoking Punk)

I used my speedlight, hand-held to the left, triggered by the on-camera flash. Boosted the blue wall using split-toning.

12 thoughts on “Day 109 (18 April 2012) Shooting a Smoking Punk

    • It’s not hard, but I did shoot many, many photos to get the one good one. I used a macro lens wide open and flash, along with some minor editing. You should give it at try!

    • If you can get some punks, they seem to work well! As we near Independence day, they should be easy to find, i’m told. If not, set up your camera by a candle and blow it out and shoot away!

  1. Pingback: Day 250 (15 Dec 2012) Smoke and Mirrors | 365 Photos by Jeremy

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

