Day 120 (29 April 2012) Church Pot Luck


Today we had Family Fun Day, which started off with a pot luck then a Veggie Tales movie.  Then I went on a 10 mile bike ride with a cycling group at my church. (I was the only guy on a Mt. Bike, and consequently, the slowest guy out there! I need to hit the gym!)

If you don’t know what a pot luck is, it’s where every family brings a random dish to share w/ the rest of everyone.  Sometimes they can be organized and have lots of variety, or 6 types of jello, a bag of chips, and a lot of soda.  This was the former and I just wish I had more room in my stomach!

Random Pot Luck Salad

60 mm, 1/50 sec, f/3.2, ISO 200, 60mm macro lens (Random Pot Luck Salad)

Strawberry Salad

60 mm, 1/40 sec, f/3.2, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (Strawberry Salad)

Dogs on the Grill

60 mm, 1/640 sec, f/3.2, ISO 100, 60 mm macro lens (Dogs on the Grill)

Burning Meat

60 mm, 1/1250 sec, f/3/2, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Burning Meat)

I realize now I didn’t change the f/stop, and some variations might have resulted in better photos, but these are not bad 🙂 (I’m hungry again!)

18 thoughts on “Day 120 (29 April 2012) Church Pot Luck

  1. The food looks great, and the dof worked with each shot. I’ve been trying to make it a point to break away from always only using the shallow end of the dof scale as well, but I still find those lower f stops to look the best.

    • Thanks Denzil! I’ve been trying to make a point of trying different DoFs on the same shot, since sometimes f/2.8 is way too shallow and f/8 is perfect. I do enjoy keeping only the subject in focus 🙂

      • I became a vegetarian somewhere in the eighties when I found out my cholesterol was excessively high. I still ate chicken and fish but no red meat. Lately though, with all these documentaries about our food chain, we’ve cut out chicken and have cut back considerably on fish. Some of the recipes we’ve found are just as exciting and tasty as those that rely on meat. But we both do enjoy the smell of barbecue occasionally. And we don’t begrudge or preach to anyone who enjoys meat! It’s just not for us anymore.

      • Thats cool! I appreciate that you don’t change vegetarianism into a religion, like some i’ve met; I would be more than happy to throw a veggie burger or piece of fish on the grill for ya!

      • The only problem is I’m not sure if it’s red or white wine that goes with a veggie burger. If you’d be kind enought to have a bottle of each, I’ll just be over here in the corner switching between the two!

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

