Day 121 (30 April 2012) Long Exposure Lake


Tonight, like most Monday’s, I don’t get a chance to shoot until after 9pm.  And most Monday nights, tonight included, I didn’t really plan the shot out ahead.  So I took a random road I’ve never driven when I saw it crossed a lake on the Garmin.  I found one of the town reservoirs and shot from near the road.  The road was mostly deserted; I think only about 5 cars passed in the 30+ min I was out there.

The moon was trying to peak through the clouds, giving just enough light to see by once my eyes adjusted; it was quiet, and peaceful.  A relaxing experience just looking out on the lake while my camera did the same 🙂

Rosemond Lake

18 mm, 5 min, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Rosemond Lake)

Rosemond Lake II

55 mm, 3 min, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Rosemond Lake II)

This last shot has the exposure boosted way up in post, but it was taken after 10 pm, like the other two.

Middle of the Road

21 mm, 2 min, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Middle of the Road)

13 thoughts on “Day 121 (30 April 2012) Long Exposure Lake

  1. The top one for me, too! When you take a 5 minute exposure, do you have to release the shutter twice? Once to open it and once to close it? Do you approximate the length of exposure? Thanks in advance!

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

