Day 128 (7 May 2012) Shadow and Color


I decided to shoot a couple things around my yard, and as I was walking back to my house, I noticed my shadow.  I’ve had a hankering to shoot a shadow series since I’ve always like looking at the cool shapes that shadows can make.  I may have to use this as a start of exploring a new concept 🙂  Any tips/tutorials on shadows would be great!  (yes, I know I can google it, but I prefer to save the effort if I can 😉 )

My Shadow

33 mm, 1/125 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (My Shadow)

I really like the color contrast between this backhoe and the woods; the yellow/rust over the green.

Tractor Colors

32 mm (cropped), 1/60 sec, f/5.6, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Tractor Colors)

This wood pile has been sitting here for several years, now.  I’m still trying to find the best way to shoot it, but it’s decay is fascinating to me.  I like the effect of this filter on the wood pile; it really brings out the texture.

Wood Pile

55 mm, 1/30 sec, f/5.6, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Wood Pile)

4 thoughts on “Day 128 (7 May 2012) Shadow and Color

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

