Day 131 (10 May 2012) My Most Expensive Photos


Today I was stupid.  After a great face-time date with my gf, I was in a great mood and rushed out the door to capture the sunset.  I wasn’t thinking clearly as I pulled over near an over-grown field of grass, parked, and put my key in my jacket pocket.  The grass/weeds are tall, so I’m bounding to get to a good spot to shoot before I loose the light.  After a couple shots and lots of jogging, It dawns on me to check my pockets.  My car key was not there, because I failed to zip up the pocket 😦  I spent about an hour searching the tall grasses to no avail, and decided I better head home while there was still some light.  Thankfully my house was only 1.5 miles away.

I bet you are wondering why I say “expensive”; my car is a VW and takes those special cut keys, and it was my only one!  Learn from my mistake and always, ALWAYS have a second somewhere!

Anyway, enough whining; here is the photo I stopped to take:

Sunset

18 mm, 1/60, f/13, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Sunset)

This shot is from my short walk home. I didn’t feel like setting up the tripod, so I had to boost the ISO way up, but at a small size the noise isn’t too bad.

Don't Fence Me In

27 mm, 1/15, f/6.3, ISO 800, 18-55mm kit lens (Don’t Fence Me In)

And this shot is from last night on my way to class; it was rainy and foggy and I couldn’t resist pulling over and shooting a couple frames when I saw it.

Foggy Pond

60 mm, 1/55, f/8.0, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Foggy Pond)

14 thoughts on “Day 131 (10 May 2012) My Most Expensive Photos

  1. My favorite photograph is the “Don’t Fence Me In”. A bummer about your car key. We have a set of keys house vehicles etc. We leave with our closest neighbor which is just a little over a mile from our house. This has saved us more than once. (I do dumb things too)

    I like how you display the camera settings of each picture.

    • Thanks! I have duplicates for all my other cars, but VW keys are expensive I can’t get them done at the local hardware store. So I put it off. No longer, I guess 🙂 But I’ll still go look again. I’m glad you like the info; I have learned a lot from other photographers who post theirs; it gives you a sense of how to do it yourself 🙂

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

