Day 135 (14 May 2012) Great Brook Pond


On my way home from a men’s group, I was trying to think of what I could shoot.  I had a couple ideas, but I happened to look out the passenger window and see this pond I pass every week going to/from church.  So I quickly turned around, came back and drove down near the water and took some shots.  These two are my favorites; the shutter speed is quite different between them, so it’s nice to see how that can affect the photo with the same effective exposure.

Great Brook Pond Sunset

18 mm, 30 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Great Brook Pond Sunset)

2012_May_14_Great Brook Pond_006

18 mm, 3.2 sec, f/6.3, ISO 400, 18-55mm kit lens (Great Brook Pond Sunset)

8 thoughts on “Day 135 (14 May 2012) Great Brook Pond

  1. Both great photos. Are you sure you don’t have the camera settings swapped? I would think the 3.2 second shutter speed would create the less defined clouds of the top photo. The top is my favorite of the two, by the way. Love the atmosphere. Great use of symmetry and reflection. I like that you chose to leave the image darker instead of trying to expose for tree line detail.

    • Thanks Denzil! That means a lot coming from someone as good as you! The wind was blowing a little, so the longer exposure resulted in the blur. It was still dusk, so there was enough light to allow a faster shutter for the second, w/ a little higher ISO.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

