Day 135 (15 May 2012) Bank Street, New London, CT


Tonight I was down in New London for the first session of Work and Learn, where I will be teaching a class on personal finance in a couple months.  Work and Learn‘s mission is to, “… help unemployed and underemployed adults develop their mind, body, social skills, and spirit[i] to be able to contribute to their families and community.”

It was raining all day and night so I took the opportunity before I left for home to shoot Bank Street (during a brief break in the rain).  On the weekend, this street is packed with people visiting the reasutraunts and bars, but on a rainy Tuesday, there were few people out.

Part of my reason for wanting to shoot here was to scout it for a photo challenge hosted by artbycamila.  Keep a look out for that post coming up 🙂

Bank Street

18 mm, 25 sec, f/11, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Bank Street)

Bank Street

18 mm, 30 sec, f/11, ISO 100, 18-55mm kit lens (Bank Street)

10 thoughts on “Day 135 (15 May 2012) Bank Street, New London, CT

  1. Your photos make me realize there are shots to be had any time, any where. I was caught in the downpour on my way to drop off family at the airport. By the time I got back home, the rain had stopped. What did I do? Went inside and had dinner. How short sighted. Could have taken a short walk around the neighborhood for some great shots. I’ve got to stop eating. Or at least cut down!

    • I’ve heard that eating is over rated, lol! One thing I live about photography is that it is opening up my eyes to the beauty in my world, and that it can be found in the most common, mundane, and ordinary places. I dont need to go to Paris or some well known vista (though I still want to!)

    • Thanks! Bank Street area has a lot of photographic potential at night. I might just have to go there and shoot w/ no ‘purpose’ one evening.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

