Day 137 (16 May 2012) Spider Man and Storm


This afternoon I went out on my deck w/ my macro lens, just to see what there was that would grab my interest.  I noticed some spider webs on a tree on my deck, and commenced to find their creator.  Then I saw him trying to scurry off the side of the deck rail, so I persuaded him to come back to the top (I didn’t hurt him, just chased him w/ a twig), so we could meet.  He was kind enough to pause during his busy day and pose for me.

Mr 8-eyes

60 mm, 1/25 sec, f/11, ISO 200, 60mm macro lens (Mr. 8-eyes)

Spider

60 mm, 1/25 sec, f/11, ISO 200, 60mm macro lens (Spider)

On my way home tonight I saw a thunderstorm off in the distance, in the direction I was traveling.  I normally don’t get to see them so far off as CT is full of hills and trees, so they are usually right on top of me before I know it.  But I had a little time to try and find a location to shoot before it pushed too far away.  I’ve been wanting to shoot lighting for a long time, and thought this could be my chance.  I wasn’t able to capture anything spectacular; most of the bolts were internal to the clouds.  It did make an enjoyable sight, though 🙂

Lightning

30 mm, 30 sec, f/5.6, ISO 400, 18-55mm kit lens (Lightning)

3 thoughts on “Day 137 (16 May 2012) Spider Man and Storm

  1. Wow! What a good shot of your little buddy there. Spiders scare the you-know-what out of me so I’ll just leave it up to good photogs like you to capture their images. The storm was pretty cool, too.

  2. These are great! I have some images of a Tarantula were I lived before , I respect spiders but it was my first time seeing one crawling right in my back yard and since I had 20 acres of land I let it roam to were she was going. I wouldn’t have killed it any ways, I save animals! lol

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

