Day 145 (24 May 2012) Light Painting Attempt


I’ve got this great idea for one of my submissions for a Long Exposure photo challenge jointly hosed by Seeing Spots Photography and Nick Exposed.  Check out either site for details on how you can join the challenge!  This is the second one they have jointly held.  The first begin a Quotography Challenge.  It was a lot of fun!  They are both great photographers, so feel free to check them out and get some creative ideas for your own work!

2012_May_24_NIght Tractor_004

18 mm, 65 sec, f/3.5, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Flashgun painting attempt)

But anyway, my shot didn’t turn out at all.  Turns out a cloud covered moonless night didn’t have enough light, even for a 5 min exposure.  So, as my bed was starting to call my name, begin after 10:30 and all, I decided to try something new to me: light paining w/ a speedlight.  I’m not satisfied with the results, but then again I didn’t read up on it or spend any time looking at examples.  I will reattempt at some point, maybe for this challenge?  But if you have any tips/hints, please leave them in the comments section; they are greatly appreciated!!

3 thoughts on “Day 145 (24 May 2012) Light Painting Attempt

  1. Jeremy,
    I love this man!! Whether you realize it or not your pic has a real sense of mystery to it (Feels like a haunted house on Halloween)! I heard Joe McNally quote a senior photographer from I believe Life magazine as saying “If you want to make something more interesting, only light part of it”, and thats exactly what you did. I also love the fact that you can see a figure of yourself from each time you hit the flash, adds a bit of extra personality to it 🙂

    Working with light painting can definitely be a real trick, as well as a real pain in the… well you get the point. Especially when venturing into a realm of light painting that I havent seen to many venture into… ie light painting with speed lights! Kudos for the insanely creative approach 😀

    Tips for next time: Try moving the camera in closer to the scene allowing it to catch more of your supplied light. You may already know this but, Speedlights work on something called the “Inverse Square Law”, without going to technical on you, that is a fancy way of saying the closer you get to the light the brighter it will be haha (also allows you to capture more of the light). You could also try bumping your ISO up a tad in order to capture a bit more light and detail, with a black and white process anyway dont be afraid to bump that number up to 800 or so.

    Keep up the great work brotha! You’ve got some super ideas, and I cant wait to see what else you come up with 😀

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

