Day 146 (25 May 2012) Color and Trash


I tend to recycle as much as I can (it saves me money on trash service, not going to debate the environmental pluses/minuses of recycling here), and had a few of my cleaned out yogurt containers sitting on the counter ready to go to the recycle bin, but the colors caught my eye a few days ago, so I left them for such a time as this 🙂

I thought it would be cool to play with them a little in front of the camera as an exercise in color.  I also hope this encourages you to look at everything around you for inspiration for shooting!  Look at the images below and then think about that they are of my trash!  Subjects for your work can be anything!  I challenge you to look for interesting subjects in new and abnormal locations/places, maybe even your own trash can!

And as an FYI, I’m leaving in about 15 min to head back up to the ADK Mountains in upstate New York for tonight and tomorrow.  I may not get a chance to post tomorrow, but I will be taking some photos, you can be sure 🙂  I’ll definitely post on Sunday.

Line of Colors

60 mm, 1/10 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60mm Canon macro lens (Line of Colors)

2012_May_25_Color and Yogurt_005

60 mm, 1/5 sec, f/3.5, ISO 100, 60mm Canon macro lens (Array of Color)

Color Wheel

60 mm, 1/50 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60mm Canon macro lens (Color Wheel)

Tower of Color

60 mm, 1/30 sec, f/2.8, ISO 200, 60mm Canon macro lens (Tower of Color)

10 thoughts on “Day 146 (25 May 2012) Color and Trash

  1. And for today’s lesson how to turn trash into fantastic photos, I’m so impressed that you could see the possibilities in a few empty containers … great…

  2. Very inventive and interesting. Just proves one man’s garbage is another man’s… yogurt! I am now carrying my camera with me everywhere I go.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

