Day 161 (9 June 2012) Long Exposure & Fireflies


First of all I want to apologize if you visited my blog yesterday and did not see any photos; I posted from my iPhone between flights, and didn’t realize that the wordpress app didn’t up load the photos until told via comment.  If you didn’t see the photos, please feel free to check out what I was able to snap from my window seat.

Tonight I wanted to try and shoot fireflies.  They are out and about, but not very dense, so I wasn’t able to really capture what I hoped to.  But I’m still happy with a few of the images, regardless 🙂  Any of you shoot fireflies successfully?  What tips do you have?  If you happen to have a write-up I’ll post a link here when I get some good photos (or if I’m still not able, I can still post it).  Anyway, here are today’s photos:

2012_Jun_09_Sunset Barn_006

55 mm, 3.2 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100 (Farmers Field)

2012_Jun_09_Fireflys_001

18 mm, 30 sec, f/5.0, ISO 100 (Fireflies in a corn field)

2012_Jun_09_Fireflys_009

18 mm, 3 min, f/3.5, ISO 100 (Night Sky)

My original intent for today’s photos was of a really cool caterpillar, but it wouldn’t stop moving long enough to get a clear shot (that’s the excuse I’m using, not that my arms/hands were shaky from doing yard work).  Maybe I try using my tripod as a monopod when shooting macro?  Or get a ring flash and use a faster shutter speed. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Day 161 (9 June 2012) Long Exposure & Fireflies

  1. You need a super dark night, a long exposure, and a lot of fireflies for it to work. I tried one night with a full moon, and the moon was so bright all my exposures were too bright to see most of the fireflies. So it would have worked if it had been darker for me.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

