Day 164 (12 June 2012) Rainy Day


I had this great plan to do a photo walk after work.  Next time I’ll check the weather before I plan, LOL.  But as the rain let up before it got too dark, I wasn’t too disappointed.  I’ve enjoyed the “challenge” of shooting rain drops.

I say “challenge” because it can be frustrating.  The slightest breeze or movement of the plant will ruing an image or I just have to sit and wait.  However, all I need is one good image, so I shoot several and hope that the movement is slow enough for the shutter speed or that I capture the movement at the apex, where it stalls momentarily.  I was using a tripod, which was necessary today, as it’s too dark to shoot hand-held.  I did use live view to get the focus just right (or just right until the subject moved! lol).  Anyway, I may have to invest in an inexpensive ring light/flash so I can use faster shutter speeds.

2012_Jun_12_Rain Drops_021

60 mm, 1/13 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Rain Drop On Leaf)

2012_Jun_12_Rain Drops_026

60 mm, 1/5 sec, f/5.0, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Drop on Buds)

2012_Jun_12_Rain Drops_033

60 mm, 1/5 sec, f/10, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (Tiny Flowers)

15 thoughts on “Day 164 (12 June 2012) Rainy Day

  1. Great macro shots. Your patience paid off. I also shoot macro, and I find it requires lots of patience, something I usually don’t have.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

