Day 171 (19 June 2012) Wild Sweet Pea Blossom


On my way into work I happened to take a slightly different route (avoiding a red light) and saw a patch of wild sweet peas in boom.  I just knew I had to stop and use them for today’s post.  I tried a few shots in the field, but being in my work clothes (slacks/shirt), I wasn’t able to get a great shot w/o getting dirty, so I plucked a particularly nice set of blossoms and took them home to shoot.

When I was a kid growing up in Northern California, I used to see these growing all over the place.  We used to eat the peas, though I just read that when ingested in large quantities, they can be toxic!  Good thing we didn’t eat a lot of them 🙂

2012_Jun_19_Pea Flower_033

60 mm, 0.3 sec, f/5.0, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Sweet Pea Blossom)

This second photo is one of my entries for the Photo Scavenger Hunt I’m participating in.  This on is, “Unusual Perspective”.  Not often to I see a photo of a flower taken from behind.

2012_Jun_19_Pea Flower_016

60 mm, 2 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Unusual Perspective)

11 thoughts on “Day 171 (19 June 2012) Wild Sweet Pea Blossom

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

