Day 198 (16 July 2012) New Toy . . .


Today I traded an old riding mower that I couldn’t get running (and had already replaced w/ a new one 🙂 ) for an old film SLR.  It was a win-win as we both had something we didn’t want, and the other something we wanted!

I’ve been on the look out for an older film SLR to use to teach some boys at my church about photography, without risking an 11 year old drop my DSLR, and this opportunity came up, so I jumped on it!  It’s probably not the best, or the most feature-rich SLR out there, but I figure that it’s a great place to start in teaching the mechanics.  I can use a cheap P&S for teaching composition, etc, that will give quick feed back, and this new one to teach the technical side (shutter speed, DoF, etc).  But I’m going to have to learn how to shoot film first!  My last film camera was a simple P&S Kodak Advantix, from the early 2000s!

So, any tips, links, websites, etc that you can offer would be very much appreciated!  I’m thinking of starting the boys (and myself) out with B&W film (gotta find it), but not sure of what ASA, brand, etc to go for.  So, if you shoot film, or ever have, please chime in below and give a fellow some help 🙂

2012_Jul_16_Film Camera_007

60 mm, 1.6 sec, f/11, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (Minolta X-370)

2012_Jul_16_Film Camera_005

60 mm, 1/8 sec, f/2.8, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (Old Camera)

2012_Jul_16_Film Camera_012

60 mm, 1/10 sec, f/2.8, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (No Auto Here!)

8 thoughts on “Day 198 (16 July 2012) New Toy . . .

  1. This sounds like fun!! You are going back to the real stuff, awesome. It’s been years since Ive shot with a 35mm but what you have will do great!! I have like 3 35mm. You can find film in Walmart, even CVS, etc. I have seen CVS carry Kodak blk/wht film. I usually used 800 film or 400, to me were the most common that I would use. All I can tell you is, have fun with this. The film, it all depends on the weather so in the back it tells you what to use. You can also do camera shops but I think they will charge you an arm and leg plus your first born for 35mm film!! lol.. Now I feel like using mine!!! Looking forward to what you shot. Laz

  2. It’s been too long ago that I shot film to remember much of anything. I just wanted to commend you on giving of your time and talent. Makes me want to volunteer the same but I think I’ll have to gain confidence in my knowledge first. Good luck.

  3. My first SLR was a Pentax K-1000 (late 70’s) and I shot mostly 400 b&w, but also used some 100 color for average shooting. Nothing automatic on that camera so it was a learning curve. I, too, admire what you’re doing. You might find some old books on shooting film at a used book store.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

