Day 200!!! (18 July 2012) Silhouettes in the Dark


As you may have seen, the next photo challenge hosted by NickExposed and SeeingSpotsPhoto is Silhouettes.  The challenge is to create (w/o photoshop) 3 images that consist of silhouettes.

Today’s photos came almost by accident; I saw some lighting to the south of where I was and looked at my weather app and found that the storm was just off shore, so I headed south to try and capture some lightning.  However, by the time I found a good shooting spot, the storm had moved sufficiently such that none was visible anymore.  Then I noticed the tree in the first image.  And remembered the challenge for July.  Then I moved further south to Avery Point, hoping still to see the storm, but to no avail.  But I did end up with the second image as my compensation.

I can’t say that it’s a worthy trade, as I’ve wanted to shoot lightning for years, and have had no luck as of yet, but I am very happy with it as one of my submissions 🙂

2012_Jul_18_Silhoutte_004

18 mm, 30 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100 (Thames River Silhouette)

2012_Jul_18_Silhoutte_008

18 mm, 30 sec, f/7.1, ISO 100 (Silhouette and Light)

17 thoughts on “Day 200!!! (18 July 2012) Silhouettes in the Dark

      • I like the composition more. The tree is one one of the lines of third and the sidewalk creates a nice curving line. I also like the lighting change from one side of the image to the other (light and warm tones on the right vs dark and blue tones on the left).

      • Thanks! I really appreciate that feedback! 🙂 It is an honor and a blessing to have you follow my blog and provide your tips and advice and feedback!!

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

