Day 202 (20 July 2012) Connecticut Corn


You may not know it if you never leave the larger towns, cities, and major highways of Connecticut, but CT has a thriving agriculture industry.  Nestled in the rolling hills, away from major highways and large towns & cities are thousands of acres of corn!  I run past a couple fields during my morning jogs, and when I take the backroads in the eastern part of the state, I see lots and lots of corn.  As such, corn mazes are also quite popular (and fun!).  Also, the local sweet corn is available all summer long, both in major grocery stores and road side produce stands.  It’s perfect the perfect grilling companion for a steak (or chicken or burger or . . . )!

What statistics I could find say that there are about 300 farms planting 4,600 acres of corn (as of 2007) in this small state.  Sure, a single farm in Iowa will surpass that, but this is New England 🙂

These photos are from one such farm along my jogging route:

2012_Jul_20_Corn Field_019

18 mm, 1/60 sec, f/11, ISO 100 (Connecticut Corn)

2012_Jul_20_Corn Field_014

55 mm, 1/40 sec, f/11, ISO 400 (Rolling Hills of Corn)

2012_Jul_20_Corn Field_001

33 mm, 1/60 sec, f/10, ISO 100 (Tall Corn)

2012_Jul_20_Corn Field_028

60 mm, 1/40 sec, f/11, ISO 800, 60mm macro lens (Corn Tassels)

4 thoughts on “Day 202 (20 July 2012) Connecticut Corn

    • yeah, from what I’ve read, almost all corn in the US is modified or specially bred. I don’t know if there is any ‘natural’ corn anymore 😦

  1. Please don’t get me started on gmo’s. But I do remember this sweet corn from my days in New York when we would shop the roadside stands. Loved the corn. Maybe not as much as I love your photos. But a good second.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

