Day 204 (22 July 2012) Gates and Fences


I have to admit that today was one of those days were I was totally unmotivated to do anything, much less hop in my truck and drive to the location for today’s shoot.  And even though I really like the results of my shooting/editing, I can’t get excited about it.  Have you ever had one of those days?  What did you do to get out of the funk?

Anyway, today’s images have a double inspiration.  First from my friend Carol, who requested that I shoot fences, and also from Shannon, co-host of this months collaborative photo shoot project/challenge.  This month’s challenge is silhouettes, and one of the idea-fostering images she shot prompted the shot of barb wire below.  Thank you both, ladies, for the inspiration for today’s shoot 🙂  I don’t know which of the two silhouettes below will be my submission.  I really like the barb wire shot, but don’t want to be a copy-cat.  Though I think I should have used a larger aperture in the wooden fence image to reduce the star-ing affect of the sun.  What do you think?

2012_Jul_22_Fences_003

35 mm, 1/25 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200 (Red Gate)

2012_Jul_22_Fences_006

43 mm, 1/25 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200 (Gate Post)

2012_Jul_22_Fences_013

18 mm, 1/160 sec, f/11, ISO 100 (Barb Wire Silhouette)

2012_Jul_22_Fences_030

18 mm, 1/200 sec, f/13, ISO 100 (Farm Fence Silhouette)

2 thoughts on “Day 204 (22 July 2012) Gates and Fences

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

