Day 208 (26 July 2012) Cracked


Ever get in a creative rut?  Can’t think of something to shoot or an idea for a photo to make?  Just check the trash!  Well, if you have some old chicken or fish, you may not want to do that, LOL.  A few days ago I bought some eggs to use for some photography experimentation with light.  I saved a couple of the shells because I knew there would be a day where I needed an interesting subject to shoot.  Today was that day!

I experimented with different orientations, DoFs, number of ‘subjects’, etc.  I did a black & white conversion in Lightroom, because I like the texture and shape (and brown eggs just are not very interesting from a color standpoint).  When I was setting up, the available light I used was the lighting fixture above my dining room table.  The fixture has 3 bulbs which make for multi-shadows, so I unscrewed two of the bulbs to give a simple shadow.  I hope you enjoy these as much as I enjoyed creating them!

2012_Jul_26_Egg Shells_020

60 mm, 3.2 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Cracked)

 

2012_Jul_26_Egg Shells_018

60 mm, 0.6sec, f/2.8, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Empty Eggs)

2012_Jul_26_Egg Shells_006

60 mm, 3.2 sec, f/9.0, ISO 100, 60mm macro lens (Cracked Open)

6 thoughts on “Day 208 (26 July 2012) Cracked

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

