Day 215 (2 Aug 2012) Shifting Gears


. . . is something I have not been able to do for a week and a half in my TDI Jetta 😦  I’m in the process of replacing the clutch, flywheel, and other misc parts to get it back to 100%.  For those of you that are car-savy, my throw-out bearing disintegrated!  Not just wore out, but when I separated the transmission from the engine, a bunch of parts fell out: ball bearings, metal pieces, and other stuff.  Because one of the parts that was destroyed was the clutch fork, I had to order more parts to continue.  The first photo is the edge where it has worn agains the clutch housing.

The second photo I took on my way home today.  I had to stop and shoot some photos 🙂

2012_Aug_02_Metal Wear_010

60 mm, 1/60 sec, f/4.0, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (Clutch Fork)

2012_Aug_02_Sun_007

29 mm, 1/1000 sec, f/9.0, ISO 100 (Sun Rays)

6 thoughts on “Day 215 (2 Aug 2012) Shifting Gears

  1. Love the top photo! Sorry to hear about the car. I’m approaching 100k miles on my Scion xD, and am wondering how long it will be before the clutch needs replaced. This is my first manual transmission car so I’m not really sure when to do certain things. I haven’t noticed any clutch slippage yet though. I also don’t know when I need to have my transmission flushed. The dealer says every 60k miles, but I think I’ll call BS on that hehe.

    • Thanks Denzil! A clutch replacement is only needed when there is a problem, usually slippage. How long it lasts depends a lot on how you drive. My truck that I drive off road lasted 86k, my jetta, 290k. And a manual trans doesn’t require a flush, just a drain/fill of fluid. Your owners manual for the recommended change interval. 60k, seems too often, but check your manual.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

