Day 225 (12 Aug 2012) Perseid Meteor Shower


Seems I’m running a day late!  Well, I did send the last hour of yesterday with my shutter open (and the first hour of today waiting for the image), so I hope you like the result!

Since the sky was clear and the Perseid meteor shower in progress, I set up my tripod in my drive way, triggered the shutter, took a nap, and hoped for the best.  Well, actually I did spend about 10-15 min on my deck and saw two meteors.  However, in an hour, my camera only caught one (maybe North isn’t the best direction?).  My lens fogged up at some point, so you can see the it in the way the star trails change over time, but It’s still a good image.  Can you spot the one meteor streak?

2012_Aug_12_Perseid Meteor_001

18 mm, 61 min, f/4.5, ISO 100 (Perseid Meteor Shower)

It crosses the bottom left corner 🙂

9 thoughts on “Day 225 (12 Aug 2012) Perseid Meteor Shower

    • Thanks Pablo! It took some editing to change the sky from a grey-ish brown-ish yellow to the blue tint. It dark enough here to view the stars but enough light from towns to spoil a super long exposure shot

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

