Day 235 (23 Aug 2012) Sockets


Well, I spent most of the night (from 7 till 11:30) in my garage, most of that trying to replace an alternator on a friend’s car.  After dealing with the typical rust bolts found on New England cars (due to salting of the roads in the winter), I discovered that the last person to install the alternator (body shop after an accident, maybe?), but in one of the bolts backwards.  Unfortunately this was a long bolt and there is no room to remove it w/o removing the axle.  That was more than I could do so late in the evening, so I had to reassemble everything and send them home un-fixed.  I have to admit that I’m really frustrated at whoever did the work last time.  I don’t mind giving up an evening to help a friend, but when it’s wasted because someone didn’t follow the tech manual, well, lets just say I’m not a happy camper.

I did manage, just barely, to get a few shots of some sockets that were laying on my workbench.  But the only reason I took them is so I would not miss a day on my 365 project.

2012_Aug_23_Sockets_009

60 mm, 1/30 sec f/2.8, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (Sockets)
2012_Aug_23_Sockets_01060 mm, 1/30 sec f/2.8, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (14mm)

2012_Aug_23_Sockets_003

60 mm, 1/20 sec f/3.5, ISO 400, 60mm macro lens (After)

2 thoughts on “Day 235 (23 Aug 2012) Sockets

  1. Great shots. Haven’t done macro for a long time. Its due to rain heavily tomorrow so I might just get my acro lens out and rummage around in the garage.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

