Day 237 (25 Aug 2012) Power


I remember when I was learning how to drive, while growing up in Northern California, that at night it was easier to tell if there was an oncoming car around a bend or on the other side of a hill, because I could see the headlights reflecting off the power lines.  They would light up in advance of the car.  I used this cue to dim my brights and if necessary, signal them to dim theirs.  To this day I still use that clue, esp. here on the hilly, windy roads of CT.

For a long time I’ve thought about shooting the glowing power lines, but tonight was the night!  I pulled over on a semi-busy road after leaving a friend’s house, set up my tripod in front of my car, and took several exposure while cars zoomed by at 55+mph.  This image I cropped once I noticed the power pole’s silhouette, as it grabbed my attention, almost as much as the lit up power lines.

2012_Aug_25_Power Lines at Night_00655 mm, 20 sec, f/8.0, ISO 100 (Power Lines)

2 thoughts on “Day 237 (25 Aug 2012) Power

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

