Day 240 (28 Aug 2012) Day Pond State Park


Do you ever have one of those days where you just don’t feel very creative?  Today was one of those days.  I wasn’t in a funk nor did I have a bad day or anything like that.  I was eager to go shoot (not my most eager ever, but eager enough to venture outside my home), but when I got to the Day Pond State Park in my town of Colchester, CT, I just didn’t “feel” it.  Not like other times, at least.  But I still put my camera on my Blackrapid strap, put my macro lens in my pocket, and just started wandering aimlessly.

My shooting felt a little forced, a little uninspired, and it probably shows.  I’m not sure how to kick myself into a more creative mood, or if this is just part of a natural cycle that tends to show itself when you are shooting (or otherwise engaged in a creative pursuit) every day.  What about you?  Have you experienced this?  Is it normal and I just have to sleep it off or is there something you do to reboot your creative side?

On a completely separate note, this weekend 3 good friends and I will be heading up to the Adirondacks for 4 days of camping including 2 extended hikes 🙂  That is exciting!  Since I’ll be on the trail for 2 days, and camping 3 nights, what kind of photos would you like to see?  I’m going to have to look at some outdoor photography to see what techniques work; I’ve not been satisfied by my trail photos as of yet.

2012_Aug_28_Day Pond_034

60 mm, 1/40 sec, f/2.8, ISO 200 (Frog)

2012_Aug_28_Day Pond_053

18 mm, 1/30 sec, f/11, ISO 100 (Moon Over Day Pond)

4 thoughts on “Day 240 (28 Aug 2012) Day Pond State Park

  1. The detail on the frog is impressive, and I like how you even got the moon reflected in the second shot.
    Nice set Jeremy.
    And I pretty much understand you, there are some days where you don’t feel creative and it doesn’t mean you’ve had a bad day, that just happens once in a while, I’ve been through the same, but I ahven’t found a way to get to be creative again, if you find it, let me know 😀
    Have a nice trip!

    • Thanks Pablo! I was surprised I was able to get as close to the frog as I was. I don’t know weather to feel bad that others go through that or feel solace in the group 🙂

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

