Day 245 (2 Sep 2012) Giant Mountain


On this date, my 3 friends and I climbed Giant Mountain, and one of them and I left the other two to rest on the summit and added Rocky Peak in our quest to become “46ers“.  I’m up to 9 of the 46 High Peaks in the Adirondacks (click the link to learn more about it), and I plan on becoming a full-fledged 46er someday.  🙂

I took quite a few less photos on this hike, as it was a little more technical of a climb, and I was a little tired from the 16 miles I did the previous day.  This day’s hike ended up being just about 10 miles, the last part, being the hardest (the decent; my knees were wishing for a break about the time I hit the first summit).  You might notice that there are some trees starting to turn, I would love to come up here next fall and shoot from a peak at the peak of leaf season 🙂 Here are my favorites:

2012_Sep_02_ADK Giant_019

Misty Mountians

2012_Sep_02_ADK Giant_038

The High Peaks

2012_Sep_02_ADK Giant_021

Weathered Tree

2012_Sep_02_ADK Giant_064

Giant’s Basin

2012_Sep_02_ADK Giant_071

Mountain Sunset

7 thoughts on “Day 245 (2 Sep 2012) Giant Mountain

    • Yeah, the view was the best I’ve seen of the 9 peaks I’ve summited, and well worth all the pain (well maybe not ‘all’ the pain, lol), but deff worth the effort!

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

