Day 251 (8 Sep 2012) Snow White, or A Child’s Tale


As you probably know, I try to participate in as many of the photo challenges SeeingSpotsPhotography hosts/co-hosts, as they are fun, and almost always push the envelope of my skills and/or creativity level.  This month’s challenge was “to bring to life an image that represents both details from your favorite childhood tale AND your feeling about that part of the tale.”

After polling friends on Facebook for ideas, I settled on something to do with Snow White.  I picked the scene where the step mother/witch gives Snow the poised apple.  That was always the saddest part of the movie; betrayal by her own family.  These day’s that part is sadly not limited to a fairy tale; thousands of children are betrayed by their own families: violence, abuse, irresponsible decisions, etc.  Even in “good” families children are often neglected by parents who put career/success before family.  I do believe that most parents’ intent is to provide the best childhood for their kids, but never learned from their parents the best methods and are perpetuating the mistakes.  One thing I’m doing, well before I get married and start a family, is reading books about family, raising kids, being a good husband/man, and talking to/observing families I know.  I know I won’t be perfect, but I hope to build upon the many good things I learned from my parents and go forth from there.

Anyway, I didn’t intend to go off on a tangent, but anyway, here are the two images I created today.  I “like” the first one the best for this challenge, but the second is good too.  Which one do you think I should submit?  I’m also open to suggestions on editing these (not gonna reshoot), if you think a different technique could help them.

 2012_Sep_08_Apple - Snow White_016

2012_Sep_08_Apple - Snow White_025

I had a different idea, but ended up getting home too late last night after the fair to try the idea I had with my friend, so I did this all solo; tripod, infrared remote, flashlight, and a bit of thread to hold the apple.

8 thoughts on “Day 251 (8 Sep 2012) Snow White, or A Child’s Tale

  1. My favorite is the first! Seeing a face and having someone hold something out has this sinister quality to it. Selfishly I ask myself, could I use this in my practice? I would use first more than second. Wow!

  2. Jeremy!
    You are such a genious!
    I’d have never come up with something like this!
    Amazing concept and great edition, pretty neat.
    Not sure about which one you should submit since both of them are truly outstanding.

    • Thanks, but deff not a genius 🙂 I tried lots of stuff before getting a couple usable images. I have to give credit to trial-&-error for the composition, as I was not able to get what my mind’s eye saw before starting.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

