Day 310 (5 Nov 2012) Runway Nights


This weekend I was out shooting with a friend and we drove by the Groton – New London Airport and she pointed out that at night the airport runway was lit with the blue lights marking the runway paths every night.  I had never even thought about that; I was surprised to learn it was open/lit at night; it is a very small regional airport.  So tonight I headed that way to see what it was like.

I did find the runway all lit up, and pulled over and set up my tripod right up near the fence.  As I was shooting, I was a little concerned that a police officer might pass by and tell me to stop.  Not that I was breaking any rules that I know of, but in this day and age, people can be paranoid.

Since there was no real foreground interest items to focus on, I decided to play with the focus and crop/composition to try and be creative.  In Lightroom, I played with the white balance and saturation to change the colors a bit.  I found that the level, in-focus shots were boring.  So I broke rules 🙂  You can see part of the fence I shot through, but I like what it does.

2012_Nov_05_Runway Lights_004

2012_Nov_05_Runway Lights_003

2012_Nov_05_Runway Lights_001

3 thoughts on “Day 310 (5 Nov 2012) Runway Nights

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

