Day 317 (12 Nov 2012) Winter Tree


I was driving around Sunday afternoon and stumbled upon an open hilltop bordering a semi-industrial area and saw this tree.  Its one of the few I’ve seen that is in such an open area, near the top of a hill.  It makes this perfect to shoot against a cloudy sky.  There is too much light pollution to shoot with stars in the background unfortunately, but the way the light from the town plays on the clouds is worthy of spending time with my camera outside 🙂

The last image is pretty close to the natural color, but I started playing with the white balance and and tint in LR to get the colors in the first image, which I really like.  I also like the black and white treatment, esp. since there wasn’t much color to begin with.  When I saw the view of image 3, I saw that there seemed to be a sharp difference in light levels split by the trunk and tried to capture that.

2012_Nov_12_Tree Silhoutte_007

2012_Nov_12_Tree Silhoutte_014

2012_Nov_12_Tree Silhoutte_023

2012_Nov_12_Tree Silhoutte_005

8 thoughts on “Day 317 (12 Nov 2012) Winter Tree

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

