Day 347 (12-12-12) Light Bulb!


You have to read the title in the accent of Gru from Despicable Me; If you’ve seen this movie, you know what I mean.  If not, rent it today!

Anyway, I was inspired to shoot this after stumbling across a photographers website who had a few series of light bulbs, and to be honest, I wasn’t impressed with them.  So I figured I would try it myself.  So on my way home from class I stopped by Walmart and picked up a couple clear 40 Watt bulbs.  The first one blew the moment I turned the lamp on, so I was glad that I had two.  I am disappointed that the class has scuffs and other marks that I could not wipe off.  When I take the bulb back to exchange it, I’ll have to actually look for one w/ good glass.

I took a lot of liberty with these images, even playing with Split Toning on a couple of them. I think it adds some interest and a unique look to a common object.  What do you think?  Which is your favorite?  What other angles should have shot this at?

2012_Dec_12_Light Bulb_007

2012_Dec_12_Light Bulb_010

2012_Dec_12_Light Bulb_011

2012_Dec_12_Light Bulb_012

2012_Dec_12_Light Bulb_016
And on other news, a couple of photos I shot for a street photography collaboration have been posted to a gallery here.  Check them out and let me know what you think!  Also, let me know if you would be interested in contributing to another one and I’ll make sure you get the invite 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 347 (12-12-12) Light Bulb!

  1. I like the purple and green ones best 🙂 Plus, maybe the scratch on the bulb actually gives it an eerie, old, mysterious feel to it!

  2. I like the one with the blueish or purplish tint. A lot. It kind of captures my attention and mesmerizes me. If you ever find your travels taking you through NW Arkansas, you gotta let me know. It would be great to hang out again and I would love for you to meet the family.

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!

