Day 114 (23 April 2012) The Other Side of the Tracks


Tonight on my way home, I took a detour along a road with some old warehouses and discovered a set of track between them and the river.  I just had to stop!  I love trains and rail roads, and night shooting, and old brick buildings and water.  I found them all in once place!!

Norwich Rails

18 mm, 30 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Norwich Rails)

The truck you see in the photo below is an oil deliver truck.  Many homes in the North East US rely on home heating oil for winter heat.  It’s much more expensive to heat a home with electric here, and unless you live in a natural gas supplied area, it’s either wood or oil.  The “oil” is just un-taxed diesel fuel.  Many homes (mine included) also use oil to make hot water for showers, etc.

Oil Delivery

18 mm, 30 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Oil Delivery)

These next two I almost didn’t even upload.  But I figured I would try B&W and see what happened. I’m happy I tried!

Night Rails

18 mm, 30 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Night Rails)

Night Rails II

18 mm, 30 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200, 18-55mm kit lens (Night Rails II)

22 thoughts on “Day 114 (23 April 2012) The Other Side of the Tracks

    • And to think that I almost relinquished that photo to the folder unedited! I’m learning that a b&w conversion can change a throw-away photo to something I really like 🙂

  1. Whoa! How did I miss this set the first time around? Like you, I love railroad trains and tracks and water and nightshooting. So is it any wonder I love these? Problem is, I wish I had taken them. I’m jealous. It’s now a competition. I’m throwing down the gauntlet- or whatever you’re supposed to throw down nowadays- and going to attempt to take a series at least as good as this. (Just give me a year or so to perfect my technique!) How come you can only “Like” something once?

  2. Pingback: Day 259 (16 Sep 2012) Down by the Tracks | 365 Photos by Jeremy

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!