Day 177 (25 June 2012) Gold Star Sunset


All day today and most of the afternoon thunderstorms rolled through New England, and when the weather turned nice in the late afternoon, I knew I had to try for a sunset with the clouds that remained!  I was going to try and shoot from the beach, until I realized that the sun sets over land this time of year over here (the CT shore is south facing), so I drove along the river and saw this view and fell in love.

An interesting thing happened while I was setting up my tripod these two guys started walking from across the street towards me.  It was a purposeful walk, and this isn’t high-income housing (not poor, either), so I get slightly nervous as they approached.  I was hoping they owned the business of the parking lot I was borrowing or local concerned citizens.  I was wrong.  The older of the two guys used to be a pro photographer and lived across the street and was curious about what I was shooting!  We shot the breeze for about 30 or so minutes until the bugs got too bad and the light was fading.  It was a cool experience 🙂

2012_Jun_25_Gold Star Bridge Sunset_021

18 mm, 1/4 sec, f/16, ISO 100 (Gold Star Sunset)

2012_Jun_25_Gold Star Bridge Sunset_020

18 mm, 1/6 sec, f/16, ISO 100 (Sunset on the Thames)

2012_Jun_25_Gold Star Bridge Sunset_016

44 mm, 1/15 sec, f/16, ISO 100 (Two Bridge Sunset)

10 thoughts on “Day 177 (25 June 2012) Gold Star Sunset

What did you think? All thoughts & critiques are welcome!